logo saicm 1

This site is archived and not updated as of 1 February 2017

For current information, please visit the New SAICM site

Western European and Others Group

Regional meetings

The Western European and Others Group (WEOG) meets as the “European Union and JUSSCANNZ” in order to include developed countries from other regions. (JUSSCANNZ core members: Japan, United States, Switzerland, Canada, Australia, Norway, New Zealand.)

Regional coordination arrangements

The SAICM regional focal point for WEOG is Ms. Suzanne Leppinen (Canada). The region is represented by the Governments of Finland and Norway on the Executive Board of the SAICM Quick Start Programme (QSP). The region decided at its first meeting, held in Barcelona from 20 to 22 November 2008, that it would not be necessary to develop terms of reference for its regional focal points or representatives on the QSP Executive Board, or to establish a regional coordination body.

Regional QSP projects

WEOG Governments are not eligible for support from the SAICM QSP.